MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL CONGREGATIONAL MEETING St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church Sackville, New Brunswick

Sunday, February 5, 2017

Place and Time

The Congregation of St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, Sackville, New Brunswick held its annual meeting at the church on Sunday, February 5, 2017 at 12:45 in the afternoon. In gathering to meet, we acknowledge that the land on which we gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi'kmaq peoples.

Attendance:

<u>Present:</u> Edward and Terrlynn Allen, Pauline Atkinson, Paul and Mary Bogaard, Michael and Donna Capper, Lewis Clarke, Florence Cole, Julie Comeau, Richard and Bertha Fillmore, Sylvia Harris, Mona Meldrum, Elizabeth Millar, Art and Anne Miller, Brian Neilson, Nita Robinson, Beth Cockburn-Savoie, Laura Snyder, David Torrance and Elizabeth Craig, Debbie Stewart, Alex Whitla, and Rev. Jeffrey Murray.

Regrets: Johanna Goldenberg

Opening Devotions:

Rev. Murray, Chair, opened the meeting with the reading of 2 Corinthians 9:6-15, followed by prayer.

Secretary:

It was moved by Richard Fillmore, seconded by Art Miller, that Sylvia Harris serve as Recording Secretary for the Annual Congregational Meeting. Carried.

Agenda:

It was moved by Paul Bogaard, seconded by Donna Capper, that the Agenda be adopted. Carried.

Minutes:

It was moved by Mary Bogaard, seconded by Art Miller, that the minutes of the Annual Congregational Meeting held on February 14, 2016 be adopted as distributed. Carried.

2016 Reports:

It was moved by Mona Meldrum, seconded by Anne Miller, that the following 2016 reports be adopted as distributed: Atlantic Mission Society and Ladies' Aid, Atlantic Mission Society Financial Report, Board, Church School, Flower Committee, Food Bank, Garden, Greeting & Reading, Ladies Bible Study, Music Support, Publications Committee, Session, St. Andrew's Library, Social Committee, and Teddies for Tragedy. Carried.

Nominating Committee Report:

It was moved by Julie Comeau, seconded by Laura Snyder, that the Recommendations 1 to 7 be adopted by consent. Carried.

- 1. That Art Miller, Kirk Meldrum and Linda Trentini be appointed to the Board of Managers for a three-year term (2017-2019).
- 2. That Art Miller be re-appointed as Chair of the Board of Managers for 2017.
- 3. That Anne Miller be re-appointed as the church Treasurer for 2017.
- 4. That Alex Whitla be re-appointed as Secretary of the Board of Managers for 2017.
- 5. That Elizabeth Millar be appointed Envelope Secretary for a one-year term (2017).
- 6. That Brian Johnstone be re-appointed as the Financial Reviewer for 2017.
- 7. That Kirk Meldrum be re-appointed as a Trustee for St. Andrew's for a three-year period (2017-2019).

It was moved by Mona Meldrum, seconded by Mary Bogaard, that all other nominations and the report as a whole of the Nominating Committee be adopted. Carried.

Rev. Murray pointed out a new position created for this year, Assistant to the Treasurer, which will be filled by Darya Tower.

Financial Reports and Review:

Rev. Murray called upon Anne Miller to present the financial statements. Before she did so, Art Miller suggested that the motion regarding the review letter from Brian Johnstone be dealt with first. The meeting agreed.

It was moved by Art Miller, seconded by Anne Miller, that the review letter from Brian Johnstone, Financial Reviewer, be received. Carried.

It was moved by Anne Miller, seconded by Donna Capper, that all Income and Expense statements for 2016 be adopted as presented. Carried.

It was moved by Anne Miller, seconded by Paul Bogaard, that the Balance Sheet for 2016 be adopted as presented. Carried.

It was moved by Mona Meldrum, seconded by Brian Neilson, that the session recommendations for donations totaling \$1,625 and Presbyterians Sharing allocation of \$9,566 be approved. Carried.

It was moved by Anne Miller, seconded by Mary Bogaard, that the Budget for 2017, totaling \$119,600 be approved. Carried.

Rev. Murray offered thanks for the work of the Session and gave the lengths of time each elder has served, noting that Mary Bogaard has served for the longest time, at close to thirty years. This announcement was followed by applause.

Mary Bogaard then thanked Rev. Murray for another year of fine and inspiring sermons and for his leadership of the congregation. Applause was given.

There being no further business, Rev. Murray called for a motion to adjourn.

It was moved by Donna Capper, seconded by Julie Comeau, that the meeting be adjourned.

Rev. Murray closed the meeting with prayer at 1:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sylvia Harris
Recording Secretary